Today: Sunday 1 August 2021 , 5:29 am


George Jeffreys (composer)

Last updated 6 Day , 12 hour 8 Views

In this page talks about ( George Jeffreys (composer) ) It was sent to us on 25/07/2021 and was presented on 25/07/2021 and the last update on this page on 25/07/2021

Your Comment

Enter code
  George Jeffreys (ca. 1610 4 or 5 July 1685) was an English composer during the period that saw the introduction of the Italian seconda pratica to northern Europe.


Jeffreys was organist to Charles I at Oxford in 1643. From about 1648 till his death he held the post of steward to the Hattons of Kirby, Northamptonshire. Many of Jeffreys's letters are preserved in the Hatton-Finch correspondence; they cover a period of nearly forty years. From 1648 Jeffreys resided at Little Weldon. He died before 12 July 1685.


Jeffreys's anthem "Erit gloria Domini" is printed in the Cantica Sacra of 1672. He composed numerous anthems and motets, many of which are in manuscript in the Aldrich collection, Christ Church, Oxford. The library of the Royal College of Music also has music by this composer, as does British Library Addit. MS. 10338.


Jeffreys's son, Christopher Jeffreys (d. 1693) was also a musician. He was elected as a king's scholar of Westminster School to Christ Church, Oxford, in 1659, proceeded B.A. in 1663 and M.A. in 1666. Christopher and his wife Anna continued to live in his father's house at Little Weldon, Northamptonshire, up to the latter's death in July 1685. Christopher died in 1693. His son George Jeffreys was known for verse. A sister was privately married in 1669 to Henry Goode, rector of Weldon in 1684.
  • Peter Aston, Jeffeys, George in The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
  • Notes

    External links

    • Digitised copy of Peter Aston's thesis 'George Jeffreys and the english baroque' (University of York, 1970)
    Category:1610s births
    Category:1685 deaths
    Category:English classical composers
    Category:English Baroque composers
    Category:17th-century classical composers
    Category:English male classical composers

    There are no Comments yet

    last seen
    Most vists